ECCO Fellowships, Grants & Travel Awards

On behalf of the ECCO Scientific Committee I herewith inform you about the official call for Fellowships, Grants & Travel Awards 2020 and would kindly ask you to distribute the information on this call within yournational society.

Deadline for applications for ECCO Fellowships, Grants, and Travel Awards: June 3, 2019

Deadline for applications for ECCO Pioneer Award: June 3, 2019 (1st round); August 13, 2019 (2nd round)

ECCO has established Fellowships, Grants, and Travel Awards to encourage and support young physicians in their career and to promote innovative scientific research in IBD.

ECCO Pioneer Award

The ECCO Pioneer Award is an exceptional award intended to fund up to 24 months of basic and/or clinical research in IBD that is visionary, innovative and interdisciplinary. The Pioneer Award has been created for collaborative research projects between a minimum of 2 participating institutions.

  • Award: EUR 250,000
  • Number of Pioneer Awards in 2020: 1


ECCO Fellowships have been created for individuals younger than 40 years who submit an original research project in the field of IBD which they wish to undertake abroad in a European hosting laboratory and/or department for the duration of one year.

  • Award: EUR 60,000 per fellowship
  • Number of Fellowships: 2


ECCO Grants aim to support innovative scientific, translational or clinical research in Europe. The guidelines for ECCO Grants are very similar to those for the Fellowships, with the exception that the research is typically undertaken in the institution of the applicant.

  • Award: EUR 50,000 per grant
  • Number of Grants: 12

N-ECCO Research Grant

N-ECCO Grant enhances the opportunity for IBD Nurses to be involved in international research projects across Europe. The aim is to engage IBD Nurses who are less experienced in research to do research, mentored by senior researchers. The duration of the N-ECCO Grant is one year.

  • Award: (up to) EUR 20,000
  • Number of Grants: 1

ECCO Travel Awards

ECCO Travel Awards are offered to young investigators who plan to visit different IBD centres in Europe, where they intend to learn scientific techniques or be a clinical observer. 

IBD nurses can apply for the N-ECCO Travel Awards, which provide nurses with the opportunity to visit European centres to observe nursing care.

New in 2020: IBD Dietitians can apply for the D-ECCO Travel Awards that enables IBD Dietitians to observe and learn about diet and nutrition in IBD in a hosting institute.

  • Award: EUR 1,500
  • Number of Travel Awards: 6 (incl. 1 N-ECCO Travel Award and 1 D-ECCO Travel Award)

ECCO-AOCC Visiting Travel Grants

ECCO-AOCC Visiting Travel Grants are for European investigators who plan to visit an IBD centre in Asia, or for Asian investigators who plan to visit an IBD centre in Europe, where they intend to learn about advanced endoscopy or to be a clinical observer.

  • Award: EUR 10,000
  • Number of ECCO-AOCC Visiting Travel Grants: 2

For detailed information on Fellowships, Grants, and Travel Awards, including eligibility and the submission process, please visit the ECCO Website.

We look forward to your applications!

Kind Regards on behalf of SciCom,

Janneke van der Woude

SciCom Chair

Sent by

ECCO Office


ECCO Office

Ungargasse 6/13

1030 Vienna, Austria

Phone:+43-(0)1-710 22 42-23

Fax:    +43-(0)1-710 22 42-001

E-mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


Print   Email